Founded 1845 | Yale University


Site Map

Hargear Award

The award is given annually to an undergraduate brother in recognition of contributions exemplifying the purpose and objective of Alpha Sigma Phi Fraternity. This award is the highest recognition an undergraduate brother can receive over and above the Undergraduate Hall of Fame. The award was established by the Grand Council in 1977.

Frank Foli Hargear, UC Berkeley '16, Delta Beta Xi '39, served on the Grand Council as Grand Secretary 1937-40, as Grand Marshal 1950-58, and was the originator of the Delta Beta Xi Award for distinguished service to the Fraternity. He was awarded the Distinguished Service Award in 1965. Brother Hargear entered the Omega Chapter in 1982 at the age of 84. The past year's winner is listed below followed by a complete list of past winners.

 2016 Recipient

Name: David Lorenzen
Chapter Designation: Delta Zeta Chapter
College and Initiation: UNC - Charlotte '12
Hometown: Holly Springs, NC
Positions: Recruitment Director (2013), Vice President (2013-2014), President (2014-2015), House Manager (2014), Membership Education Director (Present)

Brother David Lorenzen joined the fraternity when they were on the verge of forfeiting their charter due to low membership and risk management issues and his leadership helped to turn around the Delta Zeta chapter. Four years later, the chapter is now one of the largest brotherhoods on campus with 70 members. One of his five nominators stated, “He has been a brother to us all and even a father figure to the younger brothers. He has brought us back from one of our lowest depths in chapter history and has since turned us into the strongest brotherhood in our chapter’s history.” Under Brother Lorenzen’s leadership, the chapter was recognized with the Greek Life Cup at UNC Charlotte. 

Past Recipient List

2015: Andrew Hallacy, Georgia Tech '12
2014: Daniel Ward, Fresno State '11
2013: Aaron Cisco, Northwood '11
2012: Brent Bowers, Capital '10
2011: Aaron Bullock, Wake Forest '09
2010: Brian Thomas, Berkeley '06
2009: Justin LaRoche, UNC-Charlotte '06
2008: Alexander Kefaloukos, Elmhurst '04
2007: Thomas Ritter, Stevens Tech '04
2006: Mathew Rogers, UNC-Charlotte '01
2005: Jared Linsley, Ohio State '01
2005: Christopher Musbach, Ohio Wesleyan '02
2004: Matthew Bowles, Bowling Green '01
2004: Elijah J. L. Haahr, Missouri Western '04
2003: Jeffrey Sindelar, Ohio Wesleyan '01
2002: William O'Brien, Ohio Wesleyan '99
2001: Isaac Knoot, Iowa State '00
2000: Craig Polk, Stevens Tech '99
1999: Ryan Spiegel, Maryland '98
1998: Gordy Heminger, Bowling Green '96
1997: Robert Blaisdell, Murray State '94
1996: Christopher Sieben, Virginia Tech '95
1995: Nathan Hood, Illinois '92
1994: Richard Ritter, Toledo '91
1993: Judson Althoff, IIT '91
1992: J. Warren Smith, Barton '90
1991: Edward Lenane, Plattsburgh '88
1990: John Lyon, Radford '87
1988: Craig Snyder, Penn State '85
1987: Steve Zizzo, Illinois '84
1986: Robert Shaw, American '84
1985: Geoffrey Connell, Michigan '82
1984: Richard Kahler, Radford '82
1983: Roland Spickermann, Berkeley '82
1982: Bradley Barling, Iowa State '80
1981: James Lilley, Jr., NC State '78
1980: Thomas Leuther, Missouri Valley '78
1979: J. Wesley Nobles, NC State '78
1978: Jeffrey Hoffman, Member-at-Large '76
1977: Michael Waters, Oregon State '73

In this section