Founded 1845 | Yale University


Site Map

Larry Philippi Award


Recognizing the Best within the Fraternity and Sorority Community

The Larry D. Philippi Award of Distinction is given annually in recognition of those in the Greek Life profession who display exceptional passion and spirit for the Greek Movement. Created during the 2006 Grand Chapter, the Award recognizes Fraternity and Sorority Life Professionals (men or women) who work in the field of Fraternity and Sorority Life. The award can also serve to recognize those who have helped to advance the Mission and Purpose of Alpha Sigma Phi Fraternity.

Larry David Philippi, Bowling Green '76, Delta Beta Xi '85, served as a Chapter Consultant for Alpha Sigma Phi Headquarters in 1978-1979 and served on the Grand Council as a Grand Councilor in 1992. In addition, he was the founder of the Northeast Panhellenic Conference and the Executive Director of the Northeast Interfraternity Conference from 1981-1982. Brother Philippi orchestrated the merger of the Northeast Interfraternity Conference (NEIFC) and the Northeast Panhellenic Conference (NEPC), which would later become the Northeast Greek Leadership Conference (NGLA). He also served as an Executive Board member for the Association of Fraternity/Sorority Advisors from 1981-1982. The Larry Philippi Award was originally established by NGLA and was given to a Greek Professional each year until 2006. The Fraternity was proud to take over the award in 2007.

Chapter Presidents and Grand Chapter Advisors are welcome to submit a letter/email of support to Alpha Sigma Phi Headquarters if they believe their Fraternity Life Advisor is deserving of this recognition. 

Past Larry Philippi Award Winners

2019: Betsy Adams, Wake Forest University
2018: Alex Snowden, Illinois State University
2017: Dennis Campbell Jr. Kent State University
2016: Bonny Shade, University of North Carolina-Charlotte
2015: TJ Sargent, University of Wisconsin  
2014: Scott Reikofski, University of Pennsylvania
2013: Thea Zunick, New Jersey Institute of Technology  
2012: Mark West, Baldwin Wallace University
2011: Fran Lapham, Capital University
2010: Buck Cooke, Georgia Institute of Technology
2008: Thad Doyle, University of Akron
2006: Cameron Smith, University of Rhode Island
2005: Tom Murphy, Monmouth University

In this section