Founded 1845 | Yale University


Site Map

Lehigh University

Beta Epsilon Chapter

Lehigh University
Chartered by Alpha Kappa Pi: January 31,1930
Status: Inactive


Chapter Awards

Grand Senior President's Cup - [1986, 1984, 1982]

Individual Awards

Distinguished Merit Award
 Sheen, Robert '30 [1982]

Delta Beta Xi
Blythe, Philip A. '85 [2002]
DiGiacomo, Richard A. '65 [1984]
Dinsmore, George A. '59 [1969]
Gallagher, Edward S. '34 [1993]
Horn, Woodrow W. '30 [1951]
Hunter, Laurence W. '80 [2001]
MacDonald, John J. '49 [1959]
Naisby, Henry G. '35 [1960]
Potash, Thomas E. '80 [2003]
Sheen, Robert T. '30 [1955]
Slinghoff, Charles M. '59 [1980]
Williams, Harry H. '47 [1963]

Chapter History

Lehigh University was organized in 1865 and opened in 1866. A living group called "Howard Hall" was formed by 18 students in February 1927 and the group acquired a house on Seneca Street. It was installed as Nu Chapter of Alpha Kappa Pi on January 31, 1930. The chapter moved into a new chapter house in January 1933. In 1946 the merger of Alpha Kappa Pi and Alpha Sigma Phi led to renaming the chapter Beta Epsilon of Alpha Sigma Phi. The chapter house through 1960 was at 514 Delaware Street.

In the mid 1950's the chapter mounted successful fund drive and built its present house at Sayre Park. J. J. Mc Donald, later a trustee of the Alpha Sigma Phi Educational Foundation, was chairman of the fund raising committee for the Sayre Park house.

The chapter's newsletter is "Bull's Eye". Beta Epsilon won Grand Senior President's Awards for 1980-1982, 1982-1984, and 1984-1986. It also won the National Province Leadership Awards for 1970-1972 and 1972-1974. Beta Epsilon Chapter has ranked first in scholarship at various times including 1959-60 and 1979-80. In 2005 the chapter was placed on probation and required to operate its house drug and alcohol free. In September 2005, following further risk management and alcohol policy violations, the Fraternity suspended the chapter and its 19 undergraduate members.

Robert T. Sheen, Lehigh '30, was awarded the Distinguished Merit Award in 1982. Mark D. Kramer, Lehigh '78, was Alpha Sigma Phi Scholar of the Year in 1981. 12 alumni of the chapter have won Delta Beta Xi Awards.

Submitting Changes to the Chapter's History: Any member of the fraternity and/or chapter is welcome to submit a request to update/change/correct information listed within the chapter history portion of this page. Submissions will be accepted in two ways: Should a correction need to be made, please submit the entire sentence/paragraph that needs to be updated with the correction highlighted in yellow or in a different color. If something new or updated needs to be added, please submit the entire sentence/paragraph that needs to be added and/or revised with the new or added information highlighted in yellow or in a different color.

This information should be submitted to where it will be reviewed by Fraternity Staff and/or the Grand Historian. Your submission will not be acknowledged unless it has been added to the website. It is very important that the chapter's history accurately and objectively reflect the chapter, so all corrections, additions, revisions should be reviewed by other members of your chapter/provisional chapter before they are submitted for consideration.


In this section