Founded 1845 | Yale University


Site Map

Otto Sonder Award

Excellent Grand Chapter Advisors Recognized

The Dr. Otto L. Sonder Grand Chapter Advisor Award is given annually to a Grand Chapter Advisor who displays exceptional passion, commitment, and drive for a chapter, provisional chapter, or interest group during the current academic year.

Created during the 2006 Grand Chapter, the award recognizes a Grand Chapter Advisor who has helped to advance the Vision and Purpose of the Fraternity on a chapter level.

Otto Louis Sonder, American '47, Delta Beta Xi '67, was awarded the Evin C. Varner, Jr. Distinguished Service Award in 1996. Brother Sonder served as Faculty Advisor of the Alpha Gamma Upsilon Fraternity at Lycoming College (Williamsport, Pennsylvania) and orchestrated the merger with Alpha Sigma Phi Fraternity and Alpha Gamma Upsilon Fraternity, which was finalized in 1965. Lycoming College became the Gamma Rho Chapter of Alpha Sigma Phi. He served as the Gamma Rho Grand Chapter Advisor at Lycoming College 1961-1974 then served as the Beta Xi Grand Chapter Advisor at Hartwick College (Oneonta, New York) 1974-2006. Brother Sonder gave more than 45 years of service to the "Old Gal."

Nominations for the Otto L. Sonder Grand Chapter Advisor Award are due on April 15 each year. Below is a complete list of the Dr. Otto L. Sonder Grand Chapter Advisor Award recipients.

 2017 Dr. Otto Sonder Chapter Advisor of The Year

Name: John Blake
College and Initiation: Milton '60
Alumni Positions: Gamma Gamma Chapter - Grand Chapter Advisor

John Blake has served as Grand Chapter Advisor for the Gamma Gamma Chapter at the University of Connecticut since 2015. As Grand Chapter Advisor, he sought out dedicated professionals as he built his team of chapter council advisors, serves as a mentor and personal inspiration for many of the chapter’s members, and—despite living over an hour from campus—consistently attends chapter meetings on a weekly basis. He is a constant presence among the Gamma Gamma chapter and is presently working to help lay the groundwork for Gamma Gamma’s alumni association.

One of his many nominators stated, “John is an incredible wealth of knowledge and advice. He has been tremendously useful in the development of our chapter—especially in professional settings such as meetings with the staff of our Office for Fraternity and Sorority Life. John is a constant reminder of the strong and important brotherhood that Alpha Sigma Phi creates. The dedication and passion he has for this fraternity - while in his 57th year as a brother - are a testament to that.” In fact, John’s dedication to brotherhood extends so far that his grandson was inspired to become a Founding Father of Alpha Sigma Phi at the University of Maine!


Past Otto Sonder Award Recipients 

2016: George Alexander, Rutgers '67
2015: Mark Bundy, Illinois '77
2014: Scott Rarick, Capital '10
2013: Pat O'Toole, McDaniel '04
2012: Edward Kokkelenberg, IIT '54
2011: Michael Young, Murray State '94
2010: Marcus Schreiber, Central Michigan '03
2009: Byron Hughes, Salisbury '06
2008: Gregory Ghirardi, Ohio State '98

In this section