Founded 1845 | Yale University


Site Map

Presbyterian College

Alpha Psi Chapter

 Presbyterian College
 Founded: May 12, 1928
 Status: Active
 Ideal Chapter Size: 35



Alumni Newsletters

February 2018

Chapter Newsletters

Presbyterian Newsletter - Fall 2016

Chapter Awards

Grand Senior President's Cup - [2016]
Alpha Kappa Pi Gold Cup - [2017]
Phi Pi Phi Silver Cup - [2018, 2015, 2014]
Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup - [1996]
Most Improved Chapter - [2014, 1996] 

Individual Awards

Evin C. Varner Distinguished Service Award
Varner, Evin C. '58 [1985]

Delta Beta Xi
Blankenship, David S. '28 [1946]
Collins, Benjamin L. '48 [1960]
Prickett, William L. '62 [1993]
Varner Jr., Evin C. '58 [1976]
Lassiter, E.G. '68 [2017]

Kleinoeder Graduate Scholar of the Year
Carmichael, Theodore D. '93 [2005]
Hobson, Thomas M. '97 [2001]
Sribnick, Eric A. '95 [2000]

Undergraduate Hall of Fame
Cooper, Justin '13 [2017]

Chapter History

Presbyterian College was established as Clinton College in 1880. It changed its name to Presbyterian College in 1890. Phi Delta Tau was organized at Presbyterian College by nine men including D.S. Blankenship, Presbyterian '28 in the Fall of 1926. On May 12, 1928, the group was installed as Eta Chapter of Alpha Kappa Pi by National President Wilson Hall. When chartered, the chapter had nine undergraduate members, six alumni members, and five new members. First meeting rooms were in the Adair Building, 304 W. Main Street. Upon the merger of Alpha Kappa Pi and Alpha Sigma Phi, the chapter was re-designated Alpha Psi. The chapter won seven scholarship awards from the Fraternity in the 1950's and 60's. In 1975 the chapter added a deck to its lodge. Brad Bryant, Presbyterian '73 supervised the undergraduate brothers in constructing the deck. The chapter awards an outstanding senior award, The Geoff Hall Award, named after an Alpha Psi brother who later served as President of the Beta Delta Chapter while a graduate student at Marshall University. The chapter won the Alpha Gamma Upsilon Award for 1995-96.

The chapter newsletter is The Open Book. Evin Varner, Presbyterian '58, served as Grand Senior President of Alpha Sigma Phi from 1984 to 1985, on the Grand Council from 1978 to 1986, and as Editor ofThe Tomahawk from 1974 to 1986. He received the Distinguished Service Award, and after his death it was renamed the Evin C.Varner Jr. Distinguished Service Award in his honor. David S. Blankenship, Presbyterian '28, served as National President of Alpha Kappa Pi and on the Grand Council of Alpha Sigma Phi. Ben Collins, Presbyterian '48, William Prickett, Presbyterian '62, E.G. Lassiter '68, Blankenship, and Varner, have received Delta Beta Xi keys. Other notable alumni include Clarence Hugh Holman '34, author, founding co-editor of the Southern Literary Journal, and former vice president of the National Humanities Center, Captain Charles Brown MacDonald '39, Army veteran of WWII, famed WWII historian, and former Deputy Chief Historian for the US Army, Major General George Lafayette Mabry, Jr. '39, US Army veteran and recipient of the Medal of Honor for valor in WWII, Major General Christian Price Patte '53, former Director of Logistics for NATO and former staff of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, Brigadier General Roscoe Lindsay, Jr. '57, US Army (retired), and William Bradley Bryant '73, attorney and former superintendent of public schools for the state of Georgia (2010-2011).

Submitting Changes to the Chapter's History: Any member of the fraternity and/or chapter is welcome to submit a request to update/change/correct information listed within the chapter history portion of this page. Submissions will be accepted in two ways: Should a correction need to be made, please submit the entire sentence/paragraph that needs to be updated with the correction highlighted in yellow or in a different color. If something new or updated needs to be added, please submit the entire sentence/paragraph that needs to be added and/or revised with the new or added information highlighted in yellow or in a different color.

This information should be submitted to where it will be reviewed by Fraternity Staff and/or the Grand Historian. Your submission will not be acknowledged unless it has been added to the website. It is very important that the chapter's history accurately and objectively reflect the chapter, so all corrections, additions, revisions should be reviewed by other members of your chapter/colony before they are submitted for consideration.


In this section