Founded 1845 | Yale University


Site Map

Purdue University

Alpha Pi Chapter

Purdue University
Founded: October 21, 1939; Re-Organization: 2014
Status: Active
Ideal Chapter Size: 100
Conduct History: Health & Safety Violation (2019)


Chapter Awards

Grand Senior President's Cup - [1974, 1972]
Phi Pi Phi Silver Cup - [2017, 2016]
Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup - [2019, 2012]
Most Improved Chapter - [2012] 

Individual Awards

Distinguished Merit Award
Dollens, Ronald W. '65 [1999]
Kauffman, John T. '43 [1992]

Evin C. Varner Distinguished Service Award
Miller, Stan N. '64 [1986]
Byers, Buford H. '49 [1976]

Delta Beta Xi
Allen, Robert A. '43 [1968]
Allen, Eric N. '71 [1996]
Atkinson, Gary '73 [2006]
Bauer, Alex J. '05 [2018]
Byers, Buford H. '49 [1966]
Cochran, Ralph P., Jr. '44 [1953]
Dant, III, John W. (Wally) '82 [2019]
Daugherty, Von Roy '39 [1951]
Dollens, Ronald W. '65 [1988]
Hallett, Robert J. '64 [2002]
Hays, Luther M. '55 [1993]
Holmes, William H. E. '44 [1950]
Howard, David J. '83 [2019]
Kauffman, John T. '43 [2000]
Kirkwood, James '67 [1971]
Marshall, Henry L. '41 [1951]
Miller, Stan N. '64 [1975]
Morgan, Donald R. '57 [1982]
Sinise, Gregory '70 [1979]
Sum, Robert N. '52 [1991]
Taylor, Charles E. '42 [1961]
Valentine, Jason G. '01 [2011]

Undergraduate Scholar of the Year
Crook, Stephen R. '82 [1984]

Kleinoeder Graduate Scholar of the Year
Valentine, Jason G. '01 [2009]


Fall 2017

Spring 2017

Fall 2016

Spring 2016

Fall 2015

Spring 2015

Alpha Pi House Corporation Documents


Chapter History

Purdue University was founded in 1869 and its first class graduated in 1874. The Euphemian Club, initially known as Phi Beta Epsilon, was organized by five students at Purdue University in the fall of 1926, and recognized by the University on October 27, 1927. It changed its objective from being an honorary association to a social fraternity in January 1928. Louis Neubacher was an early leader of the organization. The Euphemian Club was chartered as Phi Chapter of Phi Pi Phi on May 17, 1930. On October 21, 1939, Phi Chapter of Phi Pi Phi became Alpha Pi of Alpha Sigma Phi with 45 charter initiates.

The first club house was on Vine Street. The chapter house from 1929 until 1966 was located at 218 Waldron Street. Von Roy Daugherty, Purdue '39, was President of the Purdue Alumni Corporation and kept Alpha Pi alive through World War II. The Chapter headed the drive for a uniform national new member manual in 1948 and William Holmes, Purdue '44, led the committee that drafted the manual. In October 1950, the mortgage on the Waldron Street house was satisfied and burned. In the late 1950's, a need for larger quarters was apparent and the housing corporation bought an adjoining lot to the 218 Waldron house at 220 Waldron Street.

In 1963, Alpha Sigma Phi was one of 12 "Greek Letter" groups allocated a lot on a new Fraternity row on campus. The Chapter launched a building program and broke ground on a new chapter house on October 8, 1965. Alpha Pi Chapter moved into its present house at 951 David Ross Road, Lafayette, Indiana, on September 4, 1966.

Alpha Pi won the National Province Leadership Award for 1966-1967. The newsletter, "The Grapevine¬Ě," won chapter newsletter awards in 1981, 1972 and 1973. In 1976-78, the Chapter won the Service Award. Alpha Pi won the Tomahawk Award in 1990.

After years of declining membership, risk management concerns and poor academic performance, Alpha Pi alumni contacted Fraternity Headquarters about a re-start. With approval from the alumni and University, Fraternity Staff member Seth Melchor, Bowling Green '10, led a re-organization effort during the fall semester of 2014. On November 9, 2014, Alpha Pi initiated 49 men into the Mystic Circle and has once again re-joined the ranks of an active chapter in good standing of Alpha Sigma Phi. 

Notable Brothers

Stan N. Miller, Purdue '64 - Grand Senior President [1982-84], Grand Treasurer [1980-82], Grand Councilor [1978-80], Evin C. Varner, Jr. Distinguished Service Award [1986], Delta Beta Xi Award [1985]

Donald R. Morgan, Purdue '57 – Grand Senior President [1985-86], Grand Junior President [1984-85], Grand Marshal [1982-84], Grand Councilor [1980-82], Delta Beta Xi Award [1982]

John Kauffman, Purdue '43 - Trustee and Chairman of the Educational Foundation, Distinguished Merit Award Recipients [1992], Delta Beta Xi Award [2000] 

Ronald Dollens, Purdue '65 - Grand Councilor and Foundation Board Member, Distinguished Merit Award [1999], Delta Beta Xi Award [1988]  

Robert A. Allen '43 – Grand Councilor [1967-68], Grand Secretary [1970-73], Grand Junior President [1974-75], Delta Beta Xi Award [1968] 

William H.E. Holmes '44 – Editor of The Tomahawk [1953 -57], Alumni Secretary on the Fraternity Staff, Delta Beta Xi Award [1950] 

Gregory S. Sinise '70 – Grand Councilor [1998-02], Grand Marshal [2000-01], Delta Beta Xi Award [1979] 

Dallas Montgomery '04 - served on Fraternity Staff [2008-2009] 

Alex Bauer '05 - served on Fraternity Staff [2007-2012], Delta Beta Xi Award [2018]

Eric N. Allen '71- Foundation Treasurer [2011-18], Delta Beta Xi Award [1996] 

Submitting Changes to the Chapter's History: Any member of the fraternity and/or chapter is welcome to submit a request to update/change/correct information listed within the chapter history portion of this page. Submissions will be accepted in two ways: Should a correction need to be made, please submit the entire sentence/paragraph that needs to be updated with the correction highlighted in yellow or in a different color. If something new or updated needs to be added, please submit the entire sentence/paragraph that needs to be added and/or revised with the new or added information highlighted in yellow or in a different color.

This information should be submitted to where it will be reviewed by Fraternity Staff and/or the Grand Historian. Your submission will not be acknowledged unless it has been added to the website. It is very important that the chapter's history accurately and objectively reflect the chapter, so all corrections, additions, revisions should be reviewed by other members of your chapter/provisional chapter before they are submitted for consideration.

In this section