Founded 1845 | Yale University


Site Map

University of Iowa

Alpha Beta Chapter

University of Iowa
Founded: February 2, 1924; Re-chartered: February 18, 2017
Status: Active
Ideal Chapter Size: 75



Chapter Awards

Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup - [2018]

Individual Awards

Distinguished Merit Award
Reeder, Howard C. '26 [1972]

Evin C. Varner Distinguished Service Award
Akre, Charles T. '28 [1966]

Delta Beta Xi
Akre, Charles T. '28 [1952]
Ingersoll, T. M. '24 [1938]

Chapter Newsletter
Fall 2017

Chapter History

The University of Iowa was founded in 1847 and opened with 140 students in Spring 1855. The initial campus building was the former territorial capitol building.

Delta Kappa Gamma was organized in late 1920, and following the granting of its charter as the Alpha Beta Chapter of Alpha Sigma Phi, was installed on February 2, 1924. Alpha Beta became the seventh Alpha Sigma Phi chapter at a Western or "Big Ten" Conference university. The chapter was located at 603 E. College Street until 1928 when it moved to its house at 109 River Street. The 109 River Street house is a noteworthy example of fraternity architecture. The chapter closed in 1940.

The chapter led campus fraternities in academic performance in 1928-30. The chapter initiated 239 members. In 1986 Alpha Beta provisional chapter was established at Iowa. "Alpha Bits", the chapter newsletter, reappeared in 1987. Mark Morton served as provisional chapter president for 1987-88. John Harrison, Iowa '31, took the lead in building support for an alumni corporation. After several new members of the Provisional Chapter bolted to join another reactivation effort, the Provisional Chapter ceased operations in 1989. Further revival efforts were made in 2003, but without significant success.

Charles Akre, Iowa '28, served Alpha Sigma Phi as Grand Senior President, and received the Distinguished Service Award in 1966. Howard C. Reeder, Iowa '26, received the Distinguished Merit Award in 1972. Two Alpha Beta Chapter alumni have won the Delta Beta Xi Award. Hon. H. Goodrich, Iowa '24, was President of the American Association of Law Schools, and Judge of the U. S. Third Circuit Court of Appeals.

In the fall of 2014, expansion efforts led by Matt Guldberg, Colorado '12 and Cory Ryan, Wake Forest '10 took place at the University of Iowa campus.

Alpha Beta officially chartered on February 28, 2017. The ceremony was held at the Old Capital Museum. Sam Harris, Wayne State '12 (Fraternity Staff), served as the keynote speaker. Special guests in attendance included: Peter Prach, Iowa ’14 (first president of re-charter), Richard Ligo, Westminster ’10 (GCA), and Scott Rarick, Capital ’10 (Fraternity Staff). Joe Payton, Coe '68, was also in attendance along with two undergraduates from Phi Chapter, a few parents and friends of the members. 

Submitting Changes to the Chapter's History: Any member of the fraternity and/or chapter is welcome to submit a request to update/change/correct information listed within the chapter history portion of this page. Submissions will be accepted in two ways: Should a correction need to be made, please submit the entire sentence/paragraph that needs to be updated with the correction highlighted in yellow or in a different color. If something new or updated needs to be added, please submit the entire sentence/paragraph that needs to be added and/or revised with the new or added information highlighted in yellow or in a different color.

This information should be submitted to where it will be reviewed by Fraternity Staff and/or the Grand Historian. Your submission will not be acknowledged unless it has been added to the website. It is very important that the chapter's history accurately and objectively reflect the chapter, so all corrections, additions, revisions should be reviewed by other members of your chapter/provisional chapter before they are submitted for consideration.

In this section